Nathan Pitmanhello, my name is
nathan pitman.

ShaunInman.com Pirated? Sep 01. 048

Last night while searching for plots of land in berkshire I stumbled across the UK Land Directory and thought… hmm… I’ve seen this somewhere before… :?

UK Land Directory pirated ShaunInman.com

Oh yes, this is where I saw it…

The original

Correct me if I’m wrong (Which I don’t think I am), I reckon Shaun Inman has been pirated. :/

Tagged: Design

Holy Schmoly, that’s a pretty good likeness, looks like a post for http://www.pirated-sites.com/ could be coming:-)

Posted by Steven Grosvenor on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

Yea, that was my thinking last night, but they’re not accepting submissions at the mo…

Posted by Nathan Pitman on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

With millions upon millions of sites, the odds of two looking similar are almost 1! The only thing that is the same in the screenshots above are the general layout, and the white border around the picture, I’ve seen quite a few featuring this layout and classic red/grey shade color scheme before Inman’s site that’s for sure.

Posted by webhead on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

Very true…, Has anyone stumbled across any other ShaunInman.com look alikes out there… :?

Posted by Nathan Pitman on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

Sorry, I don’t have any other ShaunInman.com look-alikes but I do agree with webhead. The only thing that seems similar is the color scheme. I don’t think its that bad. More like an inspiration connection.

Posted by Todd Fraser on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

I definately has the same look and feel, though—you can’t deny that aside from the colors it has as strong resemblance to shauninman.com—I think it’s safe to say that professional designers probably didn’t handle this, though. Not much photoshop went into it, and it’s code is definately not as clean as inman’s site (I see that one table that’s not needed in the main page, and a hard abuse of the br tag that could have just been multiple paragraphs). You could argue it, but it’d be hard to push for a copyright infridgement if that’s the case:)

My personal taste is it’s a ripoff, that top double border alone is not on most sites. Atleast they weren’t smart enough to grab his flash replacement!

Posted by Brady J. Frey on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

I don’t think it’s a pirated site. The look and feel is similar—especially the use of red text for headers, but that’s about it. Even the code is different (they use different IE CSS hacks; one uses tables, the other uses CSS2; etc.) I think people are too quick to publicly label sites as pirated.

Posted by since1968 on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

Marc, you’re right that often people are too quick to label sites as pirated… maybe I’m guilty of that very sin myself. My post was intended to inspire discussion (As it has) not simply parade the UK Land Directory site as a pirate. :)

Posted by Nathan Pitman on 01/09/2004 at 09:09 AM

Speak your mind

Name:

Email:

Location:

URL:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Submit the word you see below: